Listen To This Shit



being fresh


Let’s Cheers to This - Sleeping With Sirens
Release Date: May 10th, 2011
Record Label: Rise Records

Boring, unoriginal, expected, little lasting value. These words described the debut album, With Ears to See and Eyes to Hear, of the Michigan band, Sleeping With Sirens. Though the album was pretty much a flop to the critics of the scene, the band showed huge potential with songs like, “If I’m James Dean, You’re Audrey Hepburn,” “The Bomb Dot Com V2.0” and “With Ears to See and Eyes to Hear.” Sleeping With Sirens has spent some time touring and growing as musicians and they have answered back with their sophomore attempt, Let’s Cheers to This.

The band first hinted at their new record a couple months back and then stunning fans with the opening track, “Do It Now and Remember It Later,” in what seemed to be a couple weeks. With the new track, the band made it clear that they weren’t just another band signed to Rise, destined to be swallowed up in the chugging qualities many of the bands on the roster share. “Do It Now” is a ridiculously fast song both musically and lyrically. The song literally never slows down. Many fans were a little disappointed at the lack of screaming and hardcore aspects that were present on With Ears, but honestly, this band is way better without them. This song and album as a whole is a near perfect representation of what pop with a hardcore edge should sound like.

Later on in the album, Sleeping With Sirens knocks out some of their best tracks to date. “Four Corners and Two Sides” is the heaviest track on the album allowing Kellin Quinn to absolutely demolish vocally while the other members back him up with intricate lead guitar parts and drums that will leave you breathless. The next two songs, “A Trophy Father’s Trophy Son” and “Fire” both have huge choruses that, again, allow Quinn to show that he is one of the best vocalists that Rise has ever acquired. 

Like on With Ears to See and Eyes to Hear the band has included an acoustic song on this album. “All My Heart” is an absolutely beautiful song with a simple guitar rhythm and crisp vocals. Backed by a piano in the chorus, Quinn’s voice floats flawlessly over the instrumentals. The song brings the album’s mood down a little, until the end of the song when the full band comes in reminiscent of A Day To Remember’s, “If It Means A Lot To You.” Adding the band at the end makes the song even more emotional than it already is. 

I’m sure this album won’t win over all the haters who despised Sleeping With Sirens’ debut, but it should definitely bring in more fans. Let’s Cheers to This has everything that this band needs: awe-inspiring vocal melodies and harmonies, fantastic lead guitar licks, drums that never slow down and great musicality in general. Sleeping With Sirens is finally a part of the scene and shouldn’t get washed out anytime soon. 

Verdict: ★★★★/★★★★★


  1. Do It Now Remember It Later*
  2. If You Can’t Hang
  3. Who Are Can’t Hang
  4. Four Corners and Two Sides*
  5. A Trophy Father’s Trophy Son*
  6. Fire*
  7. Tally It Up, Settle the Score
  8. Your Nickel Ain’t Worth my Dime
  9. Postcards and Polaroids
  10. All My Heart*
  11. Let’s Cheers to This*

Sleeping With Sirens is:
Kellin Quinn - Vocals
Jack Fowler - Guitar
Jesse Lawson - Guitar / Vocals
Justin Hills - Bass
Gabe Barham - Drums  

»May. 7 @ 4:28PM | 42 notes
Notes For This Post:
  1. swsindonesia reblogged this from pupfresh
  2. himynameisphilb reblogged this from pupfresh
  3. yossiucriverside reblogged this from welovesws
  4. fantastic-gentlemen reblogged this from welovesws
  5. huucares reblogged this from welovesws
  6. welovesws reblogged this from pupfresh
  7. pouryoursugaronme reblogged this from pupfresh
  8. awesometadactyle reblogged this from alefuckingsana
  9. alefuckingsana reblogged this from thiskingdomisntwhatitmayseem and added:
    I dont understand this.. it starts hating on the band then it says that they are perfect….the fuck?
  10. thiskingdomisntwhatitmayseem reblogged this from pupfresh
  11. peaceandkim reblogged this from pupfresh and added:
  12. more-errors reblogged this from pupfresh
  13. themousefactory reblogged this from pupfresh
  14. w0nderguy reblogged this from pupfresh
  15. mistakenlydaisyy reblogged this from pupfresh
  16. sacred--moon reblogged this from pupfresh
  17. pupfresh posted this